Pioneer Electric Issues Credit for Winter Storm Uri Billing Settlements

Pioneer Electric is passing through credits for billing adjustments from Sunflower Electric Power Corporation related to February 2021’s Winter Storm Uri. This pass-through credit will be reflected in the Energy Cost Adjustment (ECA) on members’ Feb. 2023 bills. The credits result from market settlements and billing adjustments related to the wholesale power and generation costs during the event.

The cooperative experienced a $17-20 million addition to its February 2021 wholesale power bill because of the unprecedented winter storm event. To recover costs incurred by the cooperative, Pioneer Electric implemented a “Storm Uri Recovery Charge” to amortize these costs over 36 months beginning in May 2021.

Sunflower Electric has been tracking the cumulative cost adjustments (Southwest Power Pool market settlements, natural gas billing adjustments, etc.) since Winter Storm Uri occurred in February 2021. Since the risk of additional adjustments is minimal, Sunflower is crediting the current balance of the adjustments, approximately $400,000, with February’s billing to Pioneer Electric. In return, the Pioneer Electric Board approved to return of the credit to members through its February 2023 ECA.

“Winter Storm Uri was an unprecedented event that some members still feel the impact of,” said Anita Wendt, vice president of Energy Services. “This passthrough is the result of our commitment to ensure any credits Pioneer Electric receives directly benefit our members.”

Members may direct questions regarding the credit pass-through to the Pioneer Electric customer service team by calling 620-356-1211 or 1-880-794-9302.

Scholarship Application Now Open

Pioneer Electric is accepting applications for its 2023 scholarship contest. The cooperative will give out $20,000 in scholarships to students within Pioneer’s service territory. To be considered for a scholarship, students must meet the criteria outlined within Pioneer Electric’s scholarship application:

  • Students must attend high school, be a 2023 spring graduate and reside within the district of one of the schools within our service territory. Eligible schools include: Elkhart, Stanton County, Hugoton, Lakin, Moscow, Rolla, Syracuse and Ulysses.
    Complete the application on the cooperative’s website.
  • Submit a one-page resume stating future plans, activities the student participated in, accomplishments, honors, community involvement and employment. Please do not include references.
  • Submit a seventh-semester transcript (official or certified copy) from the student’s high school. Transcripts may be mailed to Pioneer Electric at

Pioneer Electric Scholarship Program
c/o Alyssa Hammond
PO Box 368
Ulysses, KS 67880

Transcripts may also be emailed by a staff member of the student’s school to

  • A brief, five to ten sentence, paragraph detailing why the student would be a good recipient of the scholarship. Space for the paragraph is available within the application.

Students must submit their application no later than 12 P.M. on March 9, 2023 to be considered for this year’s scholarships. Questions about Pioneer Electric’s scholarship program and the 2023 application may be directed to Alyssa Hammond, communications specialist by calling 620-356-1211 or emailing

Stanton County Health Coalition Receives $10,000 Pioneer Electric H.U.G.S. Grant

The Stanton County Health Coalition was awarded $10,000 in grants courtesy of Pioneer Electric’s H.U.G.S. (Helping Us Give to Society) program. Members of the coalition met with Pioneer Electric H.U.G.S. members on Jan. 4. The grant will be used to complete work on the coalition’s walking path project.

“The overall well-being of Stanton County residents is the top priority of the Stanton County Health Coalition,” said coalition member, Jennifer Rios. “The walking path will benefit every resident in the community.”

Rios stated that, in addition to the one-mile walking path, funds have also been raised to include a gazebo, picnic tables and benches along the path.

The walking path will begin at Battin Park and continue through the City of Johnson. It has been designed to accommodate strollers and enable individuals to pass each other.

“Stanton County Health Coalition has created a great opportunity for the community to get outside and enjoy the benefits of this walking path,” said Anita Wendt, Pioneer Electric’s vice president of Energy Services. “Projects like this have a long-lasting impact for their communities and we’re excited to be part of it.”