Mark Goehring Appointed as District 7 Board Member

Pioneer Electric Board of Trustees appointed Mark Goehring, of Ulysses, to serve as representative of District 7. Goehring was selected after an application and interview process conducted by Pioneer Electric’s board of trustees.

“We welcome Mark and look forward to working with him in service to our members,” said Board President, Mike Brewer. “Mark’s insight and skill will be a great addition to the board.”

Goehring plans to use his background in finance and involvement on other boards and committees in service to the cooperative.

“I’m thankful for the opportunity to serve the members of Pioneer Electric and will work alongside the board of trustees,” said Goehring.

Those interested in learning more about Pioneer Electric’s board of trustees can find further information under the “My Board” tab.

Hickok Elementary Receives $1,000 H.U.G.S. Grant

Members of Pioneer Electric’s Helping Us Give to Society (H.U.G.S.) program presented the Hickok Elementary physical education program with a $1,000 grant on February 7. The school will use the grant to purchase exercise balls for its cardio drumming unit.

“Cardio drumming combines music with exercise for great health benefits,” explained Nick Boe, Hickok Elementary P.E. teacher. “The cardio drumming unit will benefit our first and second grade students by teaching them the importance of a healthy heart at a young age.”

“A rewarding aspect of H.U.G.S. is being able to be a part of a large variety of community projects,” said Anita Wendt, vice president of energy services at Pioneer Electric. “The funds from this grant will benefit students each year and help them practice a healthy lifestyle.”

Pioneer Electric funds its H.U.G.S. team through recycled materials. Pieces of steel, aluminum, and copper taken out of service are recycled and turned into funds for grants. As funds become available, Pioneer Electric accepts applications for projects to fund within its service territory.

Pioneer Electric’s Scholarships Are Now Open

Pioneer Electric’s 2024 Scholarship applications are open to eligible high school seniors. The cooperative’s general scholarship fund will award $20,000 in scholarships to 2024 graduates. Power Line Technology scholarships ($3,000) are also available to seniors considering a career in power line technology.

To apply, students must meet the following requirements:

  • Attend a post-secondary education institution (in person or online) during the fall 2024 semester.
  • Be a 2024 high school graduate and reside within the district of one of the following schools:
    • Elkhart High School
    • Stanton County High School
    • Hugoton High School
    • Lakin High School
    • Moscow High School
    • Rolla High School
    • Syracuse High School
    • Ulysses High School

Students must complete the online application in its entirety and provide:

  • A one-page resume stating the student’s future plans, activities participated in while in high school,
    accomplishments and honors received, community involvement and employment experience. Please do not include references.
  • A seventh-semester transcript (official or certified copy) from the applicant’s high school
    • Transcripts may be submitted via mail or emailed.
      • MAIL: Official transcripts may be mailed to:
        • Pioneer Electric Scholarship Program
          c/o Alyssa Hammond
          PO Box 368
          Ulysses, KS 67880
        • EMAIL: Transcripts may also be emailed to ahammond@pioneerelectric. coop. Transcripts submitted via email will only be accepted if sent by a staff member of the student’s school (counselor, office secretary, or principal)

THE DEADLINE TO APPLY FOR EITHER SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM IS MARCH 6 AT NOON. Students must ensure that all materials have been submitted by the deadline in order for their application to be considered. Applications are available on Pioneer Electric’s website under the community tab.

Questions regarding Pioneer Electric’s scholarship program, eligibility or application my be directed to Alyssa Hammond, Communications Specialist by calling 620-356-1211 or emailing